Tibetan buddhist wheel of life

8.95  ·  3,294 ratings  ·  964 reviews
tibetan buddhist wheel of life

Tibetan Buddhism Quotes (43 quotes)

File Name: tibetan buddhist wheel of life.zip
Size: 67500 Kb
Published 30.05.2019

Sound of prayer wheels fills Gyirong streets as Tibetan Buddhists mark Saga Dawa

It is found on the outside walls of Tibetan Buddhist temples and monasteries in the Indo-Tibetan region, to help ordinary people understand Buddhist teachings. In Buddhism , bhava denotes the continuity of becoming reincarnating in one of the realms of existence, in the samsaric context of rebirth, life and the maturation arising therefrom. The word chakra is used to mean several different things in the Sanskrit sources: [5].


For Buddhists everywhere, the Bhavacakra is a powerful reminder of samsara, the cycles of transmigratory existence that operate both physically and psychologically in the lives of all beings. At its hub are animals that symbolize greed, hatred, and confusion qualities that poison experience and perpetuate suffering. The six divisions in the spokes of the wheel depict scenes of the six destinies: the six realms in which living beings take birth. Uppermost are the heavenly realms of the devas, or gods. To the right and left are the realms of humans and asuras, powerful beings ruled by anger and jealousy.

Buddhist Wheel of Life. Buddhist wheel of life is one of the Most important paintings in Tibetan Buddhism , The initial drawing was designed by Buddha himself. Buddha really encourages this painting to be painted outside every Buddhist temples and monastery. For this reason, the Painting of the Buddhist wheel of life being painted outside all the Buddhist temple and the monastery was to teach the profound Buddhist philosophy of life and perception to more simple-mind farmers or cowherds. So this image is just for communicating the Buddhist philosophy to the general audience.

Navigation menu

The rich iconography of the Wheel of Life can be interpreted on several levels. The realms also can be viewed as situations in life or even personality types — hungry ghosts are addicts; devas are privileged; hell beings have anger issues. But liberation is possible only in the human realm. From there, those who realize enlightenment find their way out of the Wheel to Nirvana. The Wheel of Life is one of the most common subjects of Buddhist art. The detailed symbolism of the Wheel can be interpreted on many levels.

The Wheel of Life illustrates in a popular way the essence of the Buddhist teachings, the Four Truths: the existence of earthly suffering, its origin and cause, the ending or prevention of misery and the practice path to liberation from suffering. The Wheel of Life describes the cause of all evil and its effects, mirrored in earthly phenomena just as it is experienced by everyone from the cradle to the grave. Picture by picture it reminds us that everyone is always his or her own judge and responsible for their own fate, because, according to Karma, causes and their effects are the fruits of one's own deeds. It leads him or her through the twelve interwoven causes and their consequences to rebirth in one of the so-called Six Worlds. Projected on one plane,they fill the whole inner sphere the Wheel of Life. But the meaning of this painting is to show the way out of all these worlds of suffering into the sphere beyond.

Whoever has visited a Tibetan Buddhist monastery, no matter if in Ladakh, Tibet or Bhutan, has also probably noticed, usually at the entrance of the temple, a drawing of the Buddhist Wheel of Life. This symbolic representation, or Bhavacakra, serves as a wonderful summary of what Buddhism is, and also reminds us that every action has consequences. It is no coincidence, then, that this concept, and its colorful representation, are explained very early in the life of every child. The wheel of life is held or supported by a wrathful deity that usually represents Yama, the god of death, but can also occasionally be interpreted as Mara, the god of seduction, or Srinpo, a mythical giant. At the center of the wheel of life there is a smaller circle.


  1. Rodbabesma says:

    Wheel of Life overview The Bhavachakra , the Wheel of Life or Wheel of Becoming, is a mandala - a complex picture representing the Buddhist view of the universe.

  2. Jason L. says:

    Cfa level 3 2019 curriculum kathi s barton free download

  3. Yolette L. says:

    Responsible Tourism

  4. Mathilde L. says:

    The Wheel of Life presents the cycle of birth and rebirth to Buddhists. Here is an illustrated look at the separate sections and what they.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *